Become a Lifeguard

Lifeguard Certification

When it comes to emergencies, are you the first to respond or take charge? If you enjoy helping people and are interested in learning how to save lives, we have the opportunity for you!

The YMCA of the Pikes Peak Region offers Lifeguard Certification Courses to train and certify individuals on preventing risks and responding to water emergencies. Certification includes CPR/AED, Basic First Aid and Emergency Oxygen administration.

The Y has led the way in swimming and water safety for more than 125 years. Through YMCA Lifeguard, you have the opportunity to not only benefit as participant in this program, but also to help others reach their full potential through swimming and water safety programs at the Y. The goal of developing character and building assets are central to the YMCA philosophy and make YMCA programs different than those offered by any other organization. By taking the YMCA Lifeguard course, you will develop specific skills while growing in spirit, mind and body.

At the completion of this course, you will have all certifications necessary to apply for a Lifeguard position and we guarantee you a job interview.

Apply for Lifeguard Jobs

Lifeguard Certification is designed to train and certify individuals in the knowledge and skills necessary to help prevent and recognize aquatic risks and respond to emergencies. Participants will also be certified in American Safety and Health Institute's (ASHI) courses: CPR/AED for the Professional Rescuer, Basic First Aid for the Community, and Emergency Oxygen Administration upon successful completion of this course.

Certification includes CPR/AED, Basic First Aid and Emergency Oxygen Administration. Sign up today and work for one of the best organizations in town! Registration is required and a job interview is guaranteed.

There is no fee for the Pre-swim course. Once you pass Pre-swim, we will assist with registering for the full Lifeguard Class. The Lifeguard Class fee varies if you are a member or non-member of the YMCA (prices are listed below in the 'Lifeguard Class' section). Upon job offer and acceptance, individuals will be reimbursed for the Lifeguard Class fee. 

COURSE REQUIREMENTS:

  • Participants must be 16 years old
  • Successfully complete Pre-swim
  • Complete all required online pre-course work

For more information contact Stephanie Lozano, Senior Director of Aquatics at [email protected]

*Must be able to work the hours in which we are hiring for in order for fee to be waived.*

PRE-REGISTRATION PROCESS

To register please sign up to attend a Pre-swim designated for the lifeguard class you wish to attend. Sign up in person or by phone at any YMCA of the Pikes Peak Region.

PREQUISITES:

At least 16 years of age by the last day of the scheduled course 
Physical Competency
Phase 1 — 1-2 min treading water legs only — 100 yards Front Crawl
Phase 2 — Swim 50 yards of each:
   Front crawl with head up
   Sidestroke
   Breaststroke
   Breaststroke head up
   Elementary backstroke with hands on chest
   Feet first surface dive then swim underwater for 15 feet
Phase 3 — Sprint 60 ft dive arm over arm pick up object, tread 1 min legs only replace object on bottom, swim remaining length, pull self out of pool & give hands only compressions for 1 min or 100 compressions. Then quickly walk over to an elevated lifeguard stand, look near your feet for a colored shape, scan area and find the matching colored shape, stand up and blow a whistle, then loud and clearly shout the Y is great!

TO COMPLETE THE REGISTRATION PROCESS:

To register please sign up to attend a pre-qual swim designated for the lifeguard class you wish to attend. Sign up in person or by phone at any YMCA of the Pikes Peak Region.

Attend the pre-swim, upon completion, payment will be due at YMCA front desk, and you will be given instructions on how to register for lifeguard class.

LIFEGUARD PRE-SWIM

  • You MUST register for Pre-swim (No fee to register)
  • Once you pass Pre-swim, the Y will assist with registering for full Lifeguard course.

DATE, TIME & LOCATION:

 

Saturday, January 27 at 1 p.m.

Downtown

Saturday, March 10 at 1 p.m.

Downtown

Wednesday, March 14 at 7 p.m.

Downtown

Sunday, March 18 at 1 p.m.

Downtown

Wednesday, March 21 at 7 p.m.

Downtown

Wednesday, March 28 at 7 p.m.

Downtown

Saturday, March 31 at 1 p.m.

Downtown

Monday, April 2 at 7 p.m.

Downtown

Saturday, April 28 at 1 p.m.

Downtown

Monday, April 30 at 7 p.m.

Downtown

Wednesday, May 9 at 7 p.m.

Downtown

Sunday, May 13 at 1 p.m.

Downtown

Wednesday, May 16 at 7 p.m.

Downtown

Sunday, May 20 at 1 p.m.

Downtown

LIFEGUARD CLASS

PROMOTIONAL PRICING - LIMITED TIME ONLY

  • No Upfront Cost for Certification Class
  • Job interview guaranteed

REGULAR PRICES

Member $175.00
Non-member $225.00

DATE, TIME & LOCATION:

​​Participants are required to attend all days​ of the class.

Monday, February 5 - Wednesday, February 28

Monday and Wednesday nights from 4:30 - 9 p.m.

Garden Ranch

Tuesday, March 20 - Friday, March 23

Every day from 9 a.m. - 7 p.m.

Meridian Ranch

Saturday, March 24 - Tuesday, March 27

Every day from 9 a.m. - 7 p.m.

Briargate

Wednesday, March 28 - Saturday, March 31

Every day from 9 a.m. - 7 p.m.

Southeast

Friday, April 6 - Saturday, April 21

Friday nights from 4:30 - 9 p.m.

Saturday from 9 a.m. - 7 p.m.

Garden Ranch

Sunday, April 8 - Sunday, May 6

Sundays from 12 - 8 p.m.

Downtown

Monday, April 9 - Wednesday, May 2

Monday and Wednesday nights from 4:30 - 9 p.m.

Southeast

Monday, May 7 - Thursday, May 17

Monday and Thursday nights from 4:30 - 9 p.m.

Garden Ranch

Monday, May 21 - Thursday, May 31

Monday and Thursday nights from 4:30 - 9 p.m.

Downtown

Saturday, May 26 - Sunday, June 3

Saturday and Sunday from 8 a.m. - 6 p.m.

Garden Ranch

 

* The YMCA will assist with registering for full Lifeguard Class. *

kids playing ball

Proud Sponsors & Partners

Penrose-St-Francis YoungLife Colorado-Springs

Pikes-Peak-Area Childrens_Hospital_Colorado

Accreditation Partners

Charity-Navigator GuideStar BBB

El-Pomar Indy-Best-Of 2017_Best_of_the_Springs_Gazette